Skip to content ↓

Learning Zones

Mapledown School provides excellent education for pupils with a range of learning needs – Severe and Complex Learning Difficulties between the ages of 11 and 19. 

The classes are organised in order that the environment and delivery of the curriculum meets the needs of the pupils as effectively as possible. They are grouped into individual learning need areas (Learning Zones). The staff working in each area are trained in this area of specialism.

Learning Zone 1:

Severe Learning Difficulties (SLD)

Learning Zone 2:

Autistic Spectrum Conditions (ASC)

Learning Zone 3:

Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties (PMLD)

LZ4 - Mapledown@Copthall

More independent learners requiring a  less specialist setting.